A cavalier affair: Parliament House by Edward Marston (2006)

Marston is a prolific writer of historical crime fiction although this is the first of his novels that I have read. This particular one is the fifth featuring the two main protagonists, the architect Christopher Redmayne and constable Jonathan Bale, and is set in Restoration London. In this case, I had no difficulty picking up the threads; there were references to past cases but they were never intrusive, and always given to provide relevant background information. Too often, when reading third or fourth novels in a series there is far too much irrelevant catch up info; here it was just about right.

On arrival at a party being thrown by a client to celebrate the completion of a house for him, Redmayne witnesses the appalling murder of one of the guests, shot in the street by a miscreant who escapes before being identified. Teaming up again with Bale he engages to find the murderer, but things are not as obvious as they might appear. Was the guest the intended victim after all?

I found it an entertaining read, but I felt that the unmasking of who really dunnit at the end was a bit rushed, and there seemed to have been little ground work laid for the unmasking, which should always be obvious once you are told. I didn’t feel this was the case in this instance. I did like the ironic twist right at the end though.

3 responses to “A cavalier affair: Parliament House by Edward Marston (2006)

  1. Thank you so much for pointing me in the direction of Edward Marston. I have just finished reading The Parliament House and thoroughly enjoyed it – could not put it down.
    I bought two of the Railway books also and am eager to devour them. I shan’t be satisfied until I’ve read the lot!
    Thank you.

  2. Dodo,
    I’m glad you enjoyed The Parliament House. It’s the only one of Marston’s that I’ve read, but you’re right – the Railway ones do look interesting. Do let me know how you get on with them.

  3. I have now read The Railway Detective and again was absorbed by it. I like Maston’s style of writing. There was a great deal of research detail included in this one, however I still enjoyed it very much – again it’s a page turner.
    I have started The Excursion Train and so far it’s enthralling.

Leave a Reply

